Compare
Running app vs watch
If you own a Garmin, probably not — Garmin Coach is free in Garmin Connect, its plans adapt to your performance and recovery, and for a first 5K or 10K that is genuinely enough. Garmin also sells a paid tier, Connect+, at £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year, which adds extra guidance on top of those same Garmin Coach plans. The case for a separate running app appears when you are training for a dated race at a goal time, when you own more than one brand of watch, or when your week keeps breaking. Apple Fitness+ is a different product from either: at £9.99 a month it is a library of guided classes and audio-guided runs, not a plan built backwards from a start line.
Garmin and Apple figures checked 2026-09-07 · page updated 2026-09-07 · where each one came from
What each one costs
| RUNVTraining app, any watch | GARMIN COACHFree in Garmin Connect, with a paid Connect+ tier | APPLE FITNESS+Apple's subscription | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | £8.00 | £0 for Garmin Coach · £6.99 for Connect+ | £9.99 |
| Annual | £60.00 | £0 for Garmin Coach · £69.99 for Connect+ | £79.99 |
| Free trial | 1 week | 30 days on Connect+ | 1 month |
| What it needs | Any of Garmin, Apple Watch, Wear OS, Strava | A compatible Garmin device | iPhone; Apple Watch for live metrics |
UK prices. Garmin has two tiers: Garmin Coach training plans are free in Garmin Connect, and Connect+ is a paid subscription that adds extra guidance on top of those same plans. Neither requires anything beyond the Garmin watch you already own.
Feature by feature
| FEATURE | RUNV | GARMIN COACH | APPLE FITNESS+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan built backwards from a race date and goal time | Yes — 5K to ultra, to a target finish | Plans for events and distance milestones | Custom Plans built around your favourite activities |
| Adapts when you miss a session | Rebuilds the remaining weeks automatically | Select plans adjust to performance and recovery | Not stated on their page |
| Works if you own more than one brand of watch | Yes — one plan across Garmin, Apple Watch, Wear OS | Garmin devices only | Apple devices only |
| Coaching in your ear during the run | Live audio coaching against the session target | Not stated on their page | Audio-guided walks, runs and meditations |
| Extra coaching guidance behind a paywall | No second tier — one price, everything included | Connect+ adds guidance on Garmin Coach plans | Fitness+ is itself the paid tier |
| AI insight from your own data | Plan rewritten from your training, sleep and recent runs | Active Intelligence — daily insight from sleep, stress, training (Connect+) | Personalised recommendations from what you do most |
| Beyond running | Running only | Cycling, strength, triathlon, fitness | 12 workout types plus meditation |
| Who designed it | RunV's coaching team | Expert sport physiologists | Apple Fitness+ trainers |
| Cost on top of the watch you own | £8/month, or £5/month paid annually | £0, unless you take Connect+ at £6.99/month | £9.99/month |
“Not stated on their page” means exactly that. We only report what Garmin and Apple publish about themselves, so an absence is a gap in the evidence rather than a claim that the feature is missing.
When your watch is enough
- You have a Garmin and you are training for your first 5K or 10K. Garmin Coach is free in Garmin Connect, it adapts, and it is on the wrist you are already wearing. Use it.
- You pay month to month. Garmin Connect+ is £6.99 a month against RunV's £8.00, and its trial is 30 days against our 7. If you want a long look before committing, Garmin gives you a longer one.
- You want strength, cycling or triathlon in the same place as your running. Garmin Coach covers all of them; RunV only does running.
- You want classes, not a plan. Apple Fitness+ gives you 12 workout types from 5 to 45 minutes with new sessions weekly, plus meditation — and bundles into Apple One. RunV does none of that.
- You are happy with the plan you have. The best training plan is the one you actually finish, and switching apps mid-block is rarely the thing that makes you faster.
When a separate app earns its keep
- You have a dated race and a time you want. A goal-time plan is periodised backwards from the start line — the sessions in week 3 exist because of what week 12 asks for.
- You own mixed hardware. A Garmin for long runs and an Apple Watch the rest of the week means two half-complete pictures; the plan should not care which one you wore.
- Your week keeps breaking. Missing a session is normal; the question is whether anything reschedules the eleven that follow it, or whether you are left guessing what to drop.
- You were going to pay for Connect+ anyway. At £69.99 a year it costs more than RunV's £60, and it spreads that across maps, badges, LiveTrack and a year-end recap. RunV spends all of it on the running plan.
The short answer
Keep the watch's own coaching if you have a Garmin, no fixed race date, and a week that mostly goes to plan — Garmin Coach is free and it is good. Move to a dedicated running app when there is a date and a time on the line, when your training has to survive a real diary, or when your kit does not all come from the same company. And if you were about to pay Garmin £69.99 a year for Connect+, compare that with £60 spent entirely on the plan.
Asked often
- Do I need a running app if I have a Garmin?
- Not necessarily. Garmin Coach is free in the Garmin Connect app and its plans adjust to your performance and recovery, which covers a first 5K or 10K well. A separate app earns its place when you are chasing a specific finish time at a dated race, when you use more than one brand of watch, or when missed sessions need the rest of the plan rebuilt around them.
- Is Garmin Coach free?
- Yes. Garmin's own Garmin Coach page states you can get started for free in the Garmin Connect app, with plans for running, cycling, strength, triathlon and fitness. Available coaches vary by Garmin device. Garmin separately sells Connect+, a paid tier that adds extra guidance on those same plans — but the plans themselves are free. Checked 7 September 2026.
- How much is Garmin Connect+ and do I need it?
- £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year with a 30-day free trial, as shown on the subscription screen in Garmin Connect for iOS in the UK on 7 September 2026. You do not need it to follow a Garmin Coach plan. It adds Active Intelligence daily insights, extra training guidance on Garmin Coach plans, 3D maps, enhanced LiveTrack, Garmin Trails and badges. Garmin notes not all features work on all devices and that availability varies by region.
- Is RunV cheaper than Garmin Connect+?
- Annually, yes: £60 against £69.99. Monthly, no: £8 against £6.99. The two are not really the same purchase, though — Connect+ upgrades your whole Garmin experience across maps, tracking and badges, while RunV spends the entire subscription on the training plan and works with Apple Watch and Wear OS as well as Garmin.
- How much is Apple Fitness+ in the UK?
- £9.99 a month or £79.99 a year, with one month free for new subscribers, as published on Apple's UK page on 7 September 2026. It is a library of guided workouts — 12 types, 5 to 45 minutes, new sessions weekly — rather than a race training plan.
- Can an app replace my watch?
- No, and none of these try to. The watch measures the run; the app decides what the run should be. RunV reads Garmin, Apple Watch, Wear OS and Strava data and writes the plan around it.
- What does a running app do that a watch doesn't?
- Three things, mostly: it builds the block backwards from a race date and goal time rather than offering a generic distance plan, it works across watch brands so mixed kit still produces one plan, and it rebuilds the remaining weeks when you miss sessions instead of leaving you to work out what to drop.
Where these figures came from
- Garmin Coach plans, adaptivity and sports covered
- Garmin's Garmin Coach overview page · checked 2026-09-07
- Garmin Connect+ price, trial length and feature list
- The subscription screen in Garmin Connect for iOS, UK storefront — Garmin publishes no public page stating this price · checked 2026-09-07
- Apple Fitness+ price, trial and what is included
- Apple's UK Fitness+ page · checked 2026-09-07
Prices move without warning. If you find one of these out of date, it is a mistake rather than a position — tell us and we will correct it.
RunV vs Runna →How the plan adapts →Predict your finish time free →
Keep the watch. Change what it’s told to do.
RunV reads Garmin, Apple Watch, Wear OS and Strava, and writes the plan around what they record. The first week is free.
